1798: First treaty with UK.

1842: Omani empire split.

1913: Tribal unrest.

1915: British repel interior tribes.

1920: Sultan and Imam sign treaty.

1952: UK and Omanis eject Saudis.

1954 onwards: Clashes between forces of Imam and Sultan.

1955-1959: Power of Imamate curbed Sultan and British.

1957: UK military intervention.

1959: Sultan controls interior.

1964: Oil discovered. UK intervene.

1965: UK refuses to withdraw.

1970: British coup.

1975: UK finally defeats rebels.

1980: Agreement with US.

1997: Women enter politics.

1999: Border agreement with UAE.

2001: Military exercises with UK.

2002: More voting rights.