1942-45: Japanese occupation.

1946-1947: Unrest under British colonial rule.

1948: Federation of Malaya formed. State of Emergency.

1948-60: Brutal British war against rebels to keep hold of rubber industry.

1957: Federation of Malaya becomes independent from Britain.

1963: Federation of Malaysia formed.

1965: Singapore withdraws from Malaysia. Insurgency in Sarawak.

1977: Unrest.

1989-1990: Peace with insurgents.

2001: Ethnic clashes.