1947-1949: Unrest and strikes.

1953: Britain sends in troops after PPP wins election.

1957: Britain retains control.

1959-1960: USA undermines PPP government.

1961: Britain loosens internal control.

1962: US backs violent opposition, UK plays along.

1963: US and UK back opposition.

1964: PPP wins elections, UK installs opposition instead.

1966: Guyana becomes member of the British Commonwealth.

1970: Guyana becomes a republic within the British Commonwealth.

1980: New constitution.

1985: Economy deteriorates.

1992: PPP wins first free elections since independence.

1998: Government declares state of emergency in Georgetown.

2003: Wave of violent crime.